Browsing the British Craft Trade Fair catalogue

My partner, Jeweller Justin Duance made his way back from a a successful show at the British Craft Trade fair in Harrogate this week (he won a prize for excellence in jewellery which is really exciting!). The show is the biggest trade show for exclusively handmade products in the UK and it’s where, back in 2004, the stitching whirl wind that is Poppy Treffry was launched!

I was definitely a bit jealous of his trip as I love Harrogate and love the buzz of the show when us crafters are finally allowed out of our workshops, allowed to wear our best clothes without getting covered in clay/fluff/sawdust/ etc and able to step back and look at what we’ve made because we’ve actually stopped making for a few days!

So I’ve made up for not going by having a good old browse of the catalogue and I’ve put together a little collection of my favourites below….

20120422-171324.jpg

Jessica Hogarth has some fantastic designs on her website http://www.jessicahogarth.com/ I love the houses prints.

20120422-171454.jpg
I’d never seen Jade Devall’s work before but it’s really cute with some lovely drawing. I love this bicycle mug and quite a few other things on her site too! http://www.jadedevalldesigns.co.uk/

20120422-171800.jpg
Kirsten Jones was another new one for me. Her drawings are gorgeous. From her site it looks like they are actually really big. She also runs weekend workshops aboard a beautifully restored old boat more details on her website http://www.kirstenjones.co.uk/

20120422-172147.jpg
Treefall design are twitter buddies of ours and they had a gorgeous stand at last years Country Living Christmas. They have a curious and quirky collection of products which I love! http://www.treefalldesigns.co.uk/

20120422-172608.jpg
I love these mugs and love the company name ‘Death By Tea’ – ace! I couldn’t get their website to work (probably an ipad/flash thing) but found out a little more on their Facebook page

20120422-172631.jpg
I’ve known Becky Crow’s work since I first exhibited at the fair 8 years ago and it just gets better and better, more intricate and enticing. You can see all her collections on her website http://www.beckycrow.co.uk/

20120422-172744.jpg
Rachel Eardley is another artist whose work I’ve admired for a long time. Her current collection includes jewellery, textiles and lithograph prints like the map above. Her website is really pretty too…http://www.racheleardley.com/

20120422-172754.jpg
Twiggd are a new one on me but I had fun browsing their site and their lovely wooden creations I love the brooches and the furniture!
http://www.twiggd.co.uk/

20120422-182650.jpg
And of course Justin Duance my feller! www.justind.co.uk

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Emma Short
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 21:39:30

    HI Poppy,
    Thanks for showing us some of the gorgeous things being made in England. Quite different from the Australian craft scene. Your fella’s jewellery is very special – and he delivers worldwide!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,014 other followers

