When I’m not Sewing….

I love planning holidays! I love getting into the nitty gritty logistics of getting from Penzance to somewhere sunny or snowy or getting a crowd of family members together in a big house somewhere fun or old friends from across the globe together for a party.

Yes I’ve been known to use spread sheets and spend many a happy/frustrating hour trawling the net for the best deals, at the best prices, in the most convenient locations at the most convenient times, with all aspects (parking, eating, surfing, sketching, wifi, breakfast, cots, attraction opening times and plenty more) considered and carefully researched.

And now my family seem to have given up trying to stop this ridiculous control freakery and when they need a holiday they just put me on it. Though when I left my Dad in charge of his own bookings he did get a lovely hotel in Madeira but a flight to Madrid!

Occasionally during my searches I come across very lovely websites – it’s not often I can afford anything on them but just browsing is very inspiring. Here are just a couple of favourites…I’d love to hear yours!

www.onefinestay.com

I found this site whilst hunting for a London pad for a wedding next month…

www.canopyandstars.co.uk

Planning some quirky camping?

 www.lovelanecaravans.com

This is a bit closer to home and we’re thinking it would make a lovely location for a PT photoshoot!

www.boutique-retreats.co.uk

And these chaps are friends of ours…what a gorgeous selection of places to stay in Cornwall!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 12:50:47

    Ahh glad I’m not the only one! (Though I haven’t got to the point of using spreadsheets – Just lots of documents!) Sometimes I think the planning is actually more enjoyable than the holiday!!!

    Reply

  2. Scott Wood
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 12:02:30

    Hi Poppy,

    Many thanks for mentioning onefinestay in your travel planning ideas article. It is great that you enjoyed using our website.

    Do let me know if there is anything I can do to help you in the future.

    Best wishes,

    Scott

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,015 other followers

