Sewing at Bedruthan Steps

Excitement was running high last Friday as Freya and I unloaded 9 vintage sewing machines from the car and into the colourful craft room at the Bedruthan Steps Hotel (http://www.bedruthan.com/), overlooking the sea.
The next morning we were joined by 12 enthusiastic stitchers all raring to go, and this despite the four course, locally sourced amazingly delicious breakfast!
I’m not going to say much more as I think the photos say it all! Needless to say we had an ace time, I was bowled over by the results!

Sewing machines begin their journey! (Leaving an empty studio)

Crafters room in set

Concentration

Caravanning

mind the fingers

Some of the results

And these too

The view from the lovely Bedruthan

The stitchers at rest

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pen
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 17:24:05

    Some of the results are amazing! What a great day you all had xx

    Reply

  2. Sue Meager
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 07:29:00

    Hi Poppy

    Seeing the photos again of everyone’s work I think the results were amazing. I know I’m thrilled with my bag, and everyone at home was impressed, too.

    Perhaps a ‘refresher’ course next year for us all to meet up again … if you’re not too busy running the ‘starter’ courses every weekend!!

    Thanks again.

    Sue

    Reply

  3. sarahclover
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 18:54:41

    Thanks again for a lovely weekend.

    Reply

  4. RosMadeMe
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 15:10:17

    OMG… those machines are not vintage, I use a hand Singer most weekends. Even though I have electric machines, I still prefer the hand Singer for running down a seam… although I wish that I had had the space to take in my mum’s treadle Singer… sniffs.

    The bags that your class have created are marvellous.

    Reply

  5. Sarah
    May 04, 2011 @ 14:10:22

    Hi Poppy
    Unfortunately, I could make the date of the March course and the November one is now fully booked. :(

    Could you possibly let me know if you plan to do any more? I’m in London (very near Albert & Pearl) but my parents are in Cornwall, so either location would fine.
    Thanks

    Reply

    • poppytreffry
      May 06, 2011 @ 10:52:34

      Hi Sarah,
      There are a few plans in the pipeline for more but nothing set in stone yet, make sure you are signed up to receive our newsletter and you should be amongst the first to hear of more.
      Cheers x

      Reply

  6. Antoinette Bullough
    May 10, 2011 @ 18:58:16

    Bedruthan is soooo beautiful.! I want to get a couple of those terribly cute cozies !! I keep forgetting the time difference in Hawaii. I’ll keep trying ! Thank you for such creative works.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,011 other followers

